Nobody publishes what a repair shop actually quoted you. We see those numbers every week, pasted into our quote checker, said out loud in chat, posted in public when someone is stunned by them, and until now we threw every one of them away. So we started recording them instead. This page is the running result, counts and all, including the parts we can't honestly claim yet.
Across 19 recorded quotes we can so far report a midpoint for 2 job families: Suspension $2,350 (n=10, range $1,100–$4,300); Brakes $1,300 (n=5, range $600–$3,500).
This is a convenience sample of 19 observations, not a survey. It skews high, and we know exactly why: people share the quote that shocked them far more often than the one that seemed fine. A midpoint is published only once a job family reaches 5 observations, below that the page says "n too small" and shows you the raw range instead.
19 of 19 observations have no confirmed region. The person never said where they were, most were posted on public North-American mechanic forums, the rest came up in conversations where the city never got mentioned. Those quotes are counted, they are useful, and they are not presented as Greater Toronto Area prices. Nothing here is region-confirmed yet, which is exactly why the honest version of this page exists before the impressive one does.
One row per repair family. n is the number of separate quotes recorded. The last column is the published Greater Toronto Area market range from our own range card, market context, not a quote, so you can see where the recorded numbers sit against it.
| Job family | n | Lowest | Midpoint | Highest | Middle half | Published market range |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suspension, struts, control arms, wheel bearings, sway linksper job scope, installed | 10 | $1,100 | $2,350 | $4,300 | $1,100–$2,500 | $350–$1,500 |
| Brakes, pads, rotors, calipersper axle, installed | 5 | $600 | $1,300 | $3,500 | $1,100–$1,417 | $200–$700 |
| Battery, alternator & starterinstalled & tested | 2 | $800 | n too small | $900 | , | $180–$1,100 |
| CV axles & driveshaftsper axle, installed | 1 | $1,200 | n too small | $1,200 | , | $350–$750 |
| Cooling, thermostat, water pump, hosesinstalled, coolant included | 1 | $1,750 | n too small | $1,750 | , | $250–$900 |
Every observation drawn from already-public text, shown in full so anyone can check our reading of it. 1 observation is counted in the totals above but not listed here: it came from a private conversation with us, and we do not republish what a customer told us in confidence, only the number, the job family and the region ever enter the dataset.
| Job family | Quoted | Quoted by | Vehicle | Region | Source | What was said |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suspension | $4,300 | Not stated | , | Not stated | public forum post | $4300 for front control arm replacement, struts and shocks? |
| Brakes | $3,500 | Dealer | , | Not stated | public forum post | Dealership wants $3500 for new brakes - rotors, pads and caliper / pins. Does that sound right? |
| Suspension | $2,600 | Not stated | 2026 Bmw i4 | Not stated | public forum post | ~$2,600 for right rear lower control arm replacement. Is this fair? 2026 BMW i4 eDrive40 |
| Suspension | $2,500 | Not stated | , | Not stated | public forum post | Was quoted $2500 to replace both lower control arms and outer tie rods (picture attached) |
| Suspension | $2,400 | Not stated | , | Not stated | public forum post | Quoted $2400 to replace both front control arms. Thoughts? |
| Suspension | $2,300 | Dealer | 2017 Nissan Rogue | Not stated | public forum post | 2017 Nissan Rogue, 114k mi. Is $2,300 fair for inner tie rod replacement? Failed inspection at my local dealership today and this is what they quoted me. |
| Suspension | $2,250 | Not stated | 2012 Infiniti G37x | Not stated | public forum post | Upper Control arm replacement 2012 Infiniti G37x 110k miles. quoted $2,250. |
| Cooling | $1,750 | Not stated | 2013 Volkswagen Polo | Not stated | public forum post | Vw Polo 2013 Tdi. Auxiliary electric water pump is failing. Quoted $1750 |
| Brakes | $1,417 | Not stated | 2021 | Not stated | public forum post | Ontario, Canada - $1,417 + tax for brakes on a 2021 RAV4 (80,000 km). Is this reasonable? |
| Brakes | $1,300 | Dealer | , | Not stated | public forum post | Dealer Trying To Charge $1300 For Brake Pads ONLY |
| CV axles & driveshafts | $1,200 | Not stated | , | Not stated | public forum post | Got quoted $1200 to replace both front CV Axles - is that a fair price? |
| Suspension | $1,100 | Not stated | 2018 Honda Civic | Not stated | public forum post | I paid $1.1k to install factory suspension on my 2018 Honda Civic |
| Brakes | $1,100 | Not stated | , | Not stated | public forum post | $1100 too expensive for brakes? |
| Suspension | $1,100 | Not stated | , | Not stated | public forum post | Shop says I need both front strut assemblies ($1,100). Am I being overly skeptical? |
| Suspension | $1,100 | Not stated | 2014 Ford fusion | Not stated | public forum post | Quoted $1,100 for ball joint and control arm replacement on 2014 ford fusion. |
| Battery, alternator & starter | $900 | Not stated | , | Not stated | public forum post | Help! Told I need an alternator and battery for $900? |
| Battery, alternator & starter | $800 | Not stated | 2006 Lincoln Zephyr | Not stated | public forum post | The 2006 Lincoln Zephyr 3.0L V6 Alternator Replacement Nightmare and Why the Mechanic Wants $800 |
| Brakes | $600 | Not stated | , | Not stated | public forum post | $600 for a single brake caliper replacement? |
One observation is one repair price, stated by the person who was quoted it, attributable to exactly one job family. Amounts are captured where they already occur: an estimate pasted into our free quote checker, a number stated in the site's chat, a finding from a pre-purchase inspection, and public posts already collected by our GTA forum monitor.
Nothing. No name, phone number, email, address, postal code, link or handle is ever written to the dataset, they are stripped before storage and the row is dropped entirely if anything identifying survives the strip. Location is recorded at city level at most. Text from private conversations is never republished. Cars With Fares customers' own jobs are excluded from the published rows completely: a customer's invoice is not research data.
Midpoint is the median of the recorded amounts for that family. "Middle half" is the 25th to 75th percentile. Both appear only at n ≥ 5. The page is regenerated from the live table, so the counts you see are the counts we have.
Both feeds carry the same rows and are regenerated with the page.
Repair pricing in this city is opaque on purpose. You get one number, on one piece of paper, with no way to tell whether it's normal, and the only people who know the answer are the ones who wrote it. Every honest quote and every padded one passes through the same fog.
We can't fix that with an opinion. We can fix it slowly, by writing down what actually gets quoted, in the open, with the count attached, and by refusing to say more than the count supports. In a year this is a real reference. Today it is 19 numbers and an honest accounting of what they do and don't prove. Both versions are worth publishing.
Paste it into the free line-by-line check, it reads the estimate against published ranges and tells you straight which lines are normal and which ones deserve a question. If you'd rather have a second set of eyes on the car itself, Fares does an independent second-opinion diagnostic at your place, so you walk into any shop knowing the real fault.
Check my quote Get a second opinion